Lost Frequencies: The Soul Prophecies also Q&A with the author #repost

lost freq

 

 

 

I’d like to thank Bridie at Outlet Publishing for reaching out and sending me this book. Also to Caitlin Lynagh for answering my questions.

Q&A first.

When did you first realise you wanted to be a writer?

It was just before I went off to university to study Biology & Geology. I was one of those students who didn’t really know what they wanted to do with their lives and all the academic choices just didn’t seem to inspire me. I wrote as a hobby from the age of thirteen and one day, not long after my seventeenth birthday, I sat down and realised that this was it, writing was what I wanted to do.

How long does it take you to write a book?

Six to twelve months to write the first draft.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

Unorganised chaos.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I’m not sure that this is a writing quirk, but I do play out parts of my stories like mini movies in my head before trying to write them.

How do books get published?

Lots of hard work, determination – and luck! It helps to have a great editor and agent. The process is slow and that’s often hard to get your head around. The real work begins after the first draft is written.

Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

From many different things; little pieces of ideas from books, movies, art, people I see in the street, conversations, absolutely everything.

When did you write your first book and how old were you?

I started writing my first book, Anomaly, when I was eighteen. It was published three years later in 2016.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I like to read, craft (a lot!) and paint.

What does your family think of your writing?

They think I’m mad, but they have come to accept my life choices.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

Writing a good book is one of the most difficult things a human can do.

How many books have you written? Which is your favourite?

I have written four books, and my favourite is my most recent book, Quantum Messenger. It hasn’t been published yet but it will be published next year.

Do you have any suggestions to help me become a better writer? If so, what are they?

Read a lot of books and keep reading! You pick up the most valuable knowledge subconsciously.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

I’ve had some lovely reviews from happy readers who have contacted me on social media. It’s good inspiration and motivation.

Do you like to create books for adults?

Yes, I hope that my books can be enjoyed by young adults and adults alike; Lost Frequencies and Quantum Messenger in particular.

What do you think makes a good story?

A story that is inventive in its world and characters. A good story surprises me, but the surprises have to be believable too.

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

According to my mother I wanted to be a dentist. I think that had more to do with the fact that they used to give me stickers after my appointment than any real desire to look in people’s mouths.

Now onto the review. I did receive a free copy of the book for an honest review. So here it is.

You are being watched. All your pathways have already been seen.

During a salvage hunt in the desolate wastelands of Planet Iyeeka, a strange naked woman is discovered inside a metal machine. No one has lived in the area for decades.

Ten wise Iyeekens are drawn to the woman through their dreams and eventually follow her, along with the three who found her, through their war-torn land in search of truth. They believe she is the key to saving their dying planet. She has knowledge even she doesn’t understand. Yet.

Who are these aliens she so vividly remembers? What is the significance of this planet Earth and its inhabitants? And why is her knowledge essential in saving their world?

Now if this synopsis doesnt get your mind into to over drive then you best of stop reading and not even leaving a like for my post (I’m only joking. Please leave a like 🤣)

Ehi is found by a group of merchants on the look out for any materials so they can survive in this desolate baron land where nothing should be able to survive. Except Ehi. Who wakes up confused and doesn’t know what is going on or where she is.

I literally could not put this book down. Even when I wasn’t reading the book it was always in the back of my mind how Ehi was going to get passed the tough situation she has found herself into.

The character development is written really well and you start to develop an akin to the characters. The world building is also really well written. Caitlin has done really well in both these aspects to immerse the reader into the world she has so brilliantly created. To the point where you forget your environment your in and you end up hours later with all the pages turning seemingly.

If you are a Sci-Fi Fantasy nut like me then you will really enjoy this book. If you aren’t then I couldn’t recommend this book to get you started.

One thought on “Lost Frequencies: The Soul Prophecies also Q&A with the author #repost

Leave a comment